St. George Cycling Club was established in 1920 following the unifications of Hurstvile Bicycle Club with other close clubs that had been operating since the turn of the century. St George is affiliated with the NSW and Australian Cycling Federations. The club boasts a proud tradition of elite cyclists including Edgar “Dunc” Gray – Australia’s first Olympic Gold Medalist in Cycling in 1932, Kevin Nichols an Olympic Gold Medalist in 1984, 2004 Dual Olympic Champion Graham Brown and Multiple World Record holder and Olympic champion Syephen Wooldridge. Add to these World Record holders, Commonwealth Games medallists, Australian and State title holders to see that the club has been and is remaining to be successful in promoting its cyclists to their full potential.

The club also caters for the social and fitness orientated cyclist interested in training and racing in a friendly and supportive environment. Children and teenagers (U7 to U19) can participate in training and racing organised specifically for juniors and supervised by qualified coaches and Hurstville Oval is utilized week days by many recreational cyclists that enjoy the flat 400 metres track.

Our home track, Hurstville Oval has hosted National titles on two occasions and is the velodrome that the legendary Dunc Gray used in preparation of winning the first Olympic Games cycling gold medal in Los Angeles in 1932.

Since then more than 100 National representatives, many who have become legends of the sport, winning Commonwealth Games, World and Olympic titles owe much of their fame to the many hours spent improving their ability and skill on this track.

The lists include the likes of Warren Scarfe, Dick Paris, Gary and Shane Sutton, Kevin Nichols, Martin Vinnicombe, Brett Dutton, Graham Brown, Ben Kersten, Chris Sutton, Kaarle McCulloch, Ashlee Ankudinoff, Nick Yallouris and new rising star Cameron Scott winning two medals at the World Junior Championships are but a few.

No other sporting club has boasted representatives at every Olympic and Commonwelath Games since 1956 and on some occasions made up 40% of the National team.